1

Book Listing for the Social Justice Movement Articles

Volume 27, Issue 6, June 2021

I have read more than 30 books in preparation for the five-part Think on These Things series on the Social Justice Movement (SJM) and Critical Race Theory (CRT).  Some of the books were read a few years ago, while many others more recently.  Not every volume is directly connected to the SJM or CRT but all contribute to understanding these influences in one way or another.  I thought it might be useful to identify these works including links to my book reviews of each.  This list, with accompanying links will provide a quick, and hopefully valuable reference for those who wish to explore this subject more fully.  As will be noticed, the books are organized alphabetically, rather than by subject.

Book Author TOTT web link
African Hermeneutics Elizabeth Mburu https://tottministries.org/african-hermeneutics-by-elizabeth-mburu/

 

Benedict Option Rod Dreher https://tottministries.org/the-benedict-option-a-strategy-for-christians-in-a-post-christian-nation-by-rod-dreher/
By What Standard Jared Longshore https://tottministries.org/by-what-standard-gods-world-god-rules-by-jared-longshore/

 

Crazy Love Francis Chan https://tottministries.org/crazy-love-by-francis-chan/
Cultural Shift Albert Mohler https://tottministries.org/culture-shift-engaging-current-issues-with-timeless-truth-by-r-albert-mohler/
Death of the Grown Up Diana West https://tottministries.org/the-death-of-the-grown-up-how-americas-arrested-development-is-bringing-down-western-civilization/
Every Thought Captive Richard L Pratt Jr https://tottministries.org/every-thought-captive-a-study-manual-for-the-defense-of-christian-truth-by-richard-l-pratt-jr/
Fault Lines

Social Justice Movement and Evangelicalism’s Looming Catastrophe

Voddie T. Baucham, Jr. https://tottministries.org/fault-lines-the-social-justice-movement-and-evangelicalisms-looming-catastrophe-by-voddie-t-baucham-jr/
Generous Justice Timothy Keller https://tottministries.org/generous-justice-how-god-s-grace-makes-us-just-by-timothy-keller-new-york-dutton-2010-230pp-xxi-hard-10-50/
God’s Forever Family, the Jesus People Movement in America Larry Eskridge https://tottministries.org/gods-forever-family-the-jesus-people-movement-in-america-by-larry-eskridge-2/
Just Mercy Bryon Stevenson https://tottministries.org/just-mercy/
Liberation Theology Emilio A Nunez C. https://tottministries.org/liberation-theology-by-emilio-a-nunez-c-chicago-moody-press-1985-304-pp-hard-out-of-print-but-available-used-at-amazon-com/
Live Not by Lies Rod Dreher  https://tottministries.org/live-not-by-lies-a-manual-for-christian-dissidents-by-rod-dreher/
Love Thy Body Nancy Pearcey https://tottministries.org/love-thy-body-answering-hard-questions-about-life-and-sexuality/
Radical: Taking Back Your Faith From the American Dream David Platt https://tottministries.org/radical-taking-back-your-faith-from-the-american-dream-by-david-platt/
Reading While Black Esau McCaulley https://tottministries.org/reading-while-black-african-american-biblical-interpretation-as-an-exercise-in-hope-by-esau-mccaulley/
Rebirth of Latin American Christianity Todd Hartch https://tottministries.org/the-rebirth-of-latin-american-christianity-by-todd-hartch-oxford-university-press-2014-264-pp-19-99/
Recovering Classic Evangelicalism Gregory Alan Thornbury https://tottministries.org/recovering-classic-evangelicalism-applying-the-wisdom-and-vision-of-carl-f-h-henry-by-gregory-alan-thornbury-wheaton-crossway-2013-223-pp-paper-7-99/
Recovering From Biblical Manhood and Womanhood Aimee Byrd https://tottministries.org/recovering-from-biblical-manhood-and-womanhood-how-the-church-needs-to-rediscover-her-purpose-by-aimee-byrd/
Reenchanting Humanity Owen Strachan https://tottministries.org/reenchanting-humanity-a-theology-of-mankind-by-owen-strachan/
Rich Christians in an Age of Hunger Ronald Sider https://tottministries.org/rich-christians-in-an-age-of-hunger-by-ronald-sider/
Slow Kingdom Coming Kent Annan https://tottministries.org/slow-kingdom-coming-practices-for-doing-justice-loving-mercy-and-walking-humbly-in-the-world-by-kent-annan/
Social Justice Goes to Church Josh Harris https://tottministries.org/social-justice-goes-to-church/
Theology of Liberation Gustavo Gutierrez https://tottministries.org/a-theology-of-liberation-by-gustavo-gutierrez-maryknoll-orbis-books-1971-1988-2015-264pp-xlvi-paper-16-88/
Uneasy Conscience of Modern Fundamentalism Carl F. H. Henry https://tottministries.org/the-uneasy-conscience-of-modern-fundamentalism-by-carl-f-h-henry/
We Will Not Be Silenced Erwin W. Lutzer https://tottministries.org/we-will-not-be-silenced-by-erwin-w-lutzer/
What Every Christian Needs to Know About Social Justice Jeffrey D. Johnson https://tottministries.org/what-every-christian-needs-to-know-about-social-justice-by-jeffrey-d-johnson/
White Fragility, Why It’s So Hard for White People to Talk about Racism Robin DiAngelo https://tottministries.org/category/book-reviews/?s=White+Fragility
Why Social Justice is not Biblical Justice Scott David Allen https://tottministries.org/why-social-justice-is-not-biblical-justice-an-urgent-appeal-to-fellow-christians-in-a-time-of-social-crisis-by-scott-david-allen
Woke Church Eric Mason https://tottministries.org/woke-church-an-urgent-call-for-christians-in-america-to-confront-racism-and-injustice-by-eric-mason/